jump to navigation

TEXAS MOTOR SPEEDWAY – GORDON IN THE GARAGE April 6, 2008

Posted by claireblang in 2008 Season, Drivers.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Nascar Sprint Cup Series – Samsung 500 – Sunday 4/6/08

If you’re watching the race – you saw what happened to Jeff Gordon (on lap 110). Gordon hit the wall and then pulled into the garage with an ill handling race car. He told his crew that he’ll just use this race (Samsung 500) as a test session. He says he’s “terrible” at Texas. After a meeting inside the hauler with team leaders – Gordon responded to questions. He was very calm – but said he has not run like this since his rookie year:

JEFF GORDON – HOW HE WAS RUNNING:
“Today was about trying to find a problem we’ve been dealing with all weekend long with just not having the handling and comfort there for me. We’ve tried every set-up we can find but none of them seem to work. We are going to fix the car. I hate it that I damaged the car. I was just hanging out on every single lap. You get frustrated. The car is not going what you want it to do. You’re trying to figure stuff out and change your line and everything and I just lost control and got in the wall. So now we’ll see if we can fix it up to go out and do some testing and see if we can figure out what it is.”

IT REMINDS US OF WHAT JIMMIE JOHNSON WENT THROUGH AT LAS VEGAS. IS THIS THE SAME ISSUE?
“You know what, it’s the same sensation he was feeling. It’s just boggling my mind. We didn’t have any of that in Vegas or California, very little of it in Atlanta. There are some crazy set ups going on in these cars right now and I guess when you don’t hit it right it’s not much fun and that’s kind of the way it was for us today.”

IT SEEMS LIKE IT HAS BEEN A STRUGGLE ALL WEEKEND FOR THE NO24 TEAM:
“I can’t remember the last time we struggled this bad. Yes, it’s just a bad day done worse for our Dupont Impala SS team. I wish I had an answer for you but I don’t. We are just really , really bad and I lost control of the car and I was hanging on just every single lap. We are going to fix the car and get back out there and do some testing. We have never felt anything like this. We saw the NO. 48 in Las Vegas with their troubles but we haven’t sensed anything like that until we got here and we have been way off. We have to find it because we can’t go through the year like this.”

DO YOU THINK NASCAR SHOULD HAVE ALLOWED (more) TESTING WITH THIS CAR ON THIS TRACK:
” We haven’t had any time to test here. Well this is a tricky race track, we have been very hit or miss here. I couldn’t tell you . I couldn’t tell you, we were bad on Friday. But ever since we got into race practice yesterday, we have been very far off the pace and uncomfortable. At this track , if the car isn’t pretty close at this race track, I am terrible. I can’t get around this race track. I don’t know what it is. Today, to be off like we were and as slow as we were, the harder it was to drive. It was a challenge, we will see if we can’t get it better.”

THAT IS QUITE A STATEMENT TO SAY YOU ARE TERRIBLE HERE: “I just don’t think I have ever been very good at Texas, that is why we have never won here. But we have had our moments, when the car has been really good. But you know what, when the car is off I am lost here. I mean, I haven’t felt this lost since my rookie year at a race track. We have been struggling here,. I know Jimmie and some of these guys have gone through some weeks, it is frustrating. We just have to try and figure it out.”

WHAT DOES YOUR TEAM DO TO REGROUP AFTER A DAY LIKE THIS:
“I don’t know. We are going to try and get the car back out on the race track and see if we can’t find something to give me some comfort. I don’t really know. If I had that answer, we wouldn’t have been running 40th or wherever we were at.”

CAN YOU PUT JUNIOR’S SET UP UNDER THE CAR?
“We could, but that was basically Jimmie’s set up we had in it. Nothing we have done has fixed the problem we are having. I don’t think it’s a set up thing, something else is going on and we are trying to figure it out.”

CBL

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

