jump to navigation

Happy Mother’s Day! May 11, 2008

Posted by claireblang in Fun Stuff.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Happy Mother’s Day!

A quick post – I have not posted the last day or so as I drove like crazy back from Darlington and made a flight home. I in Wisconsin for Mother’s Day and my mom’s birthday.
I’ll actually, if everything goes according to plan, be doing the show from here on Monday. I could not miss my mom’s birthday. I don’t get to come here as much as I would like and I get homesick quite often so I’m here, saying thanks for my incredible mom today and am so happy I was able to make it. The connections were insane so prayers worked and despite delays I did not spend my mom’s birthday in the Philly airport as I feared. Yea!

My mom is an inspiration because she taught me to fly! I remember when I got my first job in radio in Iowa at KLWW – in Cedar Rapids. Right out of college – I got a morning co host job and I was not only terrified but didn’t want to go to Iowa all by myself. My mother – pushed me out of the nest. At the time I though it was harsh -so matter of fact and I was all emotional – but now I know that a mother who loves you like that -who pushes you to see, go, fly, experience, is really unselfish. I appreciate that a great deal today.

It’s going to be a couple of really busy weeks coming up. The “Dialed In” XM Mobile Unit is going to be everywhere. I’ll be posting a schedule in the next day on this site of the Mobile Unit’s appearance schedule for Charlotte Speed Weeks. I’ll be live at the Pit Crew Challenge and at Hendrick Motorsports, and Roush Racing, and Speed Street and Sam Bass Gallery and at NASCAR Day to name a few locations!

Right now though – I gotta go. My dad is grilling a turkey today and my mom is making dinner – way cool!

Home is not something to take lightly and I really believe it took my mom and me to break through sports talk radio. She had to raise me and I had to focus on doing it. Two generations – and all the great listeners who I never take for granted.

I thank my mom today and anything I ever achieved in life was because of her unselfish love.

Happy Mothers Day to all moms – and catch you Monday on the radio.

Claire B
XM Satellite Radio
Middleton, Wisconsin

Comments»

1. Nila - May 12, 2008

Happy Birthday to your mom — there’s no place like home. 🙂

Enjoy your (too brief) stay.


Leave a Reply

