jump to navigation

POSTCard From: West Allis, Wisconsin June 19, 2008

Posted by claireblang in 2008 Season.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

2006 Time Warner Cable Road Runner 225Image via WikipediaPOSTCard
From: West Allis, Wisconsin
Claire B Lang BlOG – Thursday June 19, 2008

Hey! Ok – yesterday I did shots, of reality, as I took “Dialed In” To Paulie’s Pub & Eaterie across the street from the historic Milwaukee Mile. It was crazy (what was I thinking?) – there I was doing a three hour broadcast while people were banging dice cups on the table (reminds me of old times) shooting dice and putting down shots and drafts. As I did the broadcast I watched one young guy celebrating the day of his divorce right across from where I was broadcasting talking about the significance of a road course.

I got a kick out of just going out on the road. I live at a race track pretty much – so it’s cool to go out and run into folks and just ask them what they think about things in general and chew the fat (cheese curds) while talking about topics of the day in NASCAR. I took the broadcast to Milwaukee a day early so that I could see my family so the bar was full of mostly regulars. Today, Paulies will be packed not only with patrons but with the race fans who are coming into town to enjoy the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series and Nationwide Series races here at the Milwaukee Mile. I’m thinking what kind of trouble am I going to get into today? Yesterday, there were times, I could hardly hear myself or the people I was interviewing talk – it was so loud – as people simply enjoyed the late afternoon on a beautiful day in Miwaukee. Today, I’m sure it will be insane and the bar will be packed. Hope you can come along for the ride.

And yes, I was kidding about the shots. I never could handle them.

Last night, after the show, I went to the ball game of my brother’s kid Alex and sat in the stands in Milwaukee on a cool evening at a local ball park and watched the nephew I never get to see cover first base. I don’t get many chances like that and I soaked it up totally.

Shots of reality today on “Dialed In” from Paulie’s Pub and Eatery adjacent to the Milwaukee Mile at 4:00 EST on XMSN Channel 144

Speaking of reality -I wanted to catch you up on what Brian Vickers was so upset about after the race at Michigan. He ended up talking to NASCAR about it. Here’s what he told me:

CBL: Brian you had some questions after the race out on pit road -this past weekend. Did you ever go to NASCAR and got the full explanation so that now you understand better or have a better view of it?
Vickers: “So I had some questions about at the end of the race before the last caution – we passed the 8 car about two laps before the caution came out and then under caution they put the 8 car in front of us and to be honest with you I was furious. I was pretty upset about it and rightfully so and you know wanted an explanation as to why that took place. I feel that in a lot of ways that cost us a shot at the race. You know there’s no guarantees what would have happened but it definitely hurt us. I did talk to them after the race and they said they made an honest mistake – they said the 8 car was supposed to be behind you and you know I think that’s all you can ask for. I mean – you know it’s like when a driver on the race track gets into you. It makes all the difference in the world if they call you up the next day and say, ‘Man I’m sorry. I messed up, I’m sorry, you know lets just move forward from here on out.’ And I totally respect that. I mean I have made many, many mistakes in my life and I will probably make many more and I think that the important thing is to own up to it and move on. Unfortunately, in our sport – and if I was in the tower I couldn’t do any different. You can’t just call a time out and go look at the replay and sort it out. I mean you’re talking about – you look at a football game and they get a bad call on the field and they call a time out and they fix it and they move on. Well that’s one call. For those guys it’s 43 calls up in the tower – they got 43 positions to sort out every caution not one and it’s a tough job – you know. And they can’t just pause the race – they got guys running out of fuel and the race is coming to an end and it’s time to go green and get the checkered out there so you know it’s time to move on.
But, you know, they did say they made a mistake and owned up to it and that’s all you can ask for.”

That’s it for now. Stay tuned for more from Milwaukee.

Enjoy the day!

Claire B
XM Satellite Radio

Zemanta Pixie
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

