jump to navigation

Chex Most Popular Driver- Hot Topic! November 21, 2008

Posted by claireblang in 2008 Season, Drivers, Fun Stuff.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Hey all: The National Motorsports Press Association and Chex are looking for ideas to further promote and grow the Most Popular Driver contest. This year’s voting is already over and will be announced in New York City next week. I brought this topic up on air and found that it was really a hot one! I got tons of emails and feed back ranging from pick a most popular driver each month and then have a vote off at the end to charging for charity $1.00 per vote. There was talk that ranged from allowing people to vote only once to allowing them to vote as often as they’d like.

We had a man who called who set two computers up to vote up to 150 times a day. The listeners were amazed that was happening. Others said it’s nothing new and leave it alone.

Let me know your feedback if you can. Here are some of the emails I got yesterday.

Thanks for listening and checking out ClaireBLang.com

Claire B

________________________________________________
Hi Claire

It’s my understanding you were asking on behalf of Chex about the voting for MPD. As a long time Jr fan and voter, I shouldn’t give you my insight (ans spill our secrets), but here goes anyway. I feel the problem is: it’s very difficult for a casual fan to even locate the voting. Once it moved from Nascar.com to Scene Daily it was even more confusing for the casual fan. If you don’ t keep a link in your favorites, locating the voting can be a challenge. Now us Jr fans, it’s easy. We’re a very organized group. This is just my opinion. Thanks for asking.

***Sandy Beddie***
Proud member of Jr Nation
________________________________________________
Claire B – I am diehard Dale Jr fan and I voted daily. I’d gladly pay $1 a
day to vote… Maybe money to driver’s specified charity? Then it would
really reflect driver’s popularity!
Kat in VA

Paying a dollar a day for each vote would cost me $30.00 a month. In this economy that’s just not practical. I could not afford it, and many others couldn’t either.

Ginger
________________________________________________
Hey Claire!
I’m not out of the office yet, but I understand you brought up the topic of MPD and wondered if it should be changed. My vote is NO!

If indeed Dale Jr is the winner again this year, and from the apparent description that you gave on the show it sounds like he is, it is because his legion of fans has faithfully voted each and every day. In fact, some of us were fairly concerned that we were doing enough to show our support and wanted to do more. If fans of other drivers are not voting, that’s too bad. Maybe they feel that there isn’t a chance, but the only way that they can show their loyalty is to vote, vote, vote! My guess is that if fans could only vote once a season (boooo), or once a month, Dale Jr would still win. He just has more fans! The only way he is not going to win is if he follows Bill Elliot’s path and removes himself from the voting list.

Some of the things that also convince me that he is the most popular are (1) the hands down majority of fans wearing his gear at the tracks, (2) the reception he gets in driver intros, and (3) the advertising minutes/stats that get generated every year. My guess is that somehow Budweiser isn’t gonna be at the top of the list this year! And that is not to take anything away from Kasey, it is just that he is not as popular as Dale Jr!

Goodness knows, the fans get no respect and are not listened to by the powers that be in Daytona Beach. Don’t take this away from us too!

Chicago, IL
________________________________________________
Claire,

I am in my car and cannot call you. Had to walk in the school library to send this e-mail. My driver is Dale Jr and yes I do vote in the Most Popular Driver Award ONCE every day. I don’t feel the need to vote more than that. The MPD Award is very prestigous and means a great deal to us as Jr fans, that we have been able to win it for him the last 5 years running. We take a lot of pride in him winning it and we know it means a lot to him. I totally disagree with anyone who says it dosen’t mean anything. It shows where the drivers stand with the people who make it possible for them to do what they love every week. Don’t tell me “it dosen’t mean anything!”

I resent that Chex is even THINKING of changing the format in which this award is voted on. Please do not insult us as fans by cheapening what is now a very prestigous award. We don’t need some new “allstar” format to drum up excitement. Leave it alone…the people who want to vote already do. People need to suck it up…Jr has the most fans and that is that. Let them change it to whatever format they want because it does not matter…Jr Nation will come out on top. Please let the Chex people know though Claire, that I purchase Chex Cereal as my cereal of choice. I eat it every morning for breakfast. If they change this format, I will pull my support. I will not buy their product if they do this. I only buy it because they sponsor this award, I can easily find me another cereal to eat, that I like just as much.

Some of his fans, me included, have been concerned over the last few days because voting was supposed to be over at 11:59CT on Monday afternoon, and the website is still taking votes. Are the organizers of the award TRYING to sabatoge us fans who are voting for Jr??? Okay, I am joking so nobody get upset but it does make us wonder. Why will they not take the voting page down. Voting is over, yet, we can still vote. After hearing all of this, it just makes me wonder.

Thanks for your time

Jennifer

________________________________________________
Hey Claire!

1) Tell Gary the Mojo Crew says “Hey!” We got to talk to him a couple years in a row when he used to come to the Lowes Zone at LMS in Charlotte. He’s got some funny stories. I think Jimmie must get some of the humor from Gary. I thought Jimmie jumping into the crew reminded me for some reason of the Jimmie Gary talked about who invited everyone at a race he won to come to their house for a party and that when he (Gary) got home there were like a hundred people in his front yard. The spontaneous; I want to share my happiness with everyone; let’s have a good time Jimmie. They did a wonderful job raising Jimmie, Jarit, and Jessie. And I bet he’s enjoying Jarit’s little ones too. Congrats on that also.

2) Most Popular Driver voting: they need to continue to refine the program that runs that. Make it one where the voter has to enter a randomly generated code in order for the vote to go through so they can’t use the macro voting programs that generate votes without a person needing to hit the buttons by hand. Another would be if they can have it set up so it recognizes ISP addresses so people can’t vote with multiple emails from the same computer address. Just a couple of suggestions. Not a huge deal though. I’m a Jimmie fan and I know how wonderful he is whether other people figure it out or not. I’d rather be a fan of the 3 time Champion (IN A ROW! CAN YOU BELIEVE IT! I’M STILL A BIT EXCITED! Ha ha!) than the guy who is most popular but can’t get the job done on the track – and note my driver is physically fit enough that he can still breath and talk after 500 miles.

Thanks Claire! Love the show as always!

Pam J
________________________________________________
Hey CBL,

I haven’t voted in the most popular drive promotion in years, since Ward Burton got “booted” from the sport I haven’t had a car in the race. When you get some one as popular as Jr. it would be hard to cast that many votes, seems to me “awesome Bill” from Dawsonville was one like Jr. Don’t know what they could do to pull me into the voting again. I like Jr. but I like a lot of the other drivers too, maybe they should have a most “unpopular driver” segment too…I think I would be more apt to vote in that now than the most popular.

Joyce
Arkansas
________________________________________________
Dear Claire B

I am a faithful MPD voter, and I vote every day. This contest has been in existence for many years. I’m just wondering why you would want to change the format now. Is this Chex’s idea? PS Love your show.

G

________________________________________________
Hi Claire,
I voted for my driver, Casey Mears, everyday in the most popular driver voting. Everytime I voted I felt like it was a waste of time because the Jr. fans would win out every time Jr. is a choice for anything. I think that a driver should not be eligible after winning the Most popular award more than 2 years in a row. At least Bill Elliot had the grace to take himself out of the running after dominating that award for years.

David
Endicott, NY

________________________________________________
Hi Claire,

I’m and Dale Jr. fan and will vote no matter how they change it, but in my opinion if you ask people to pay to vote you will get fewer people to your website. These are going to be hard economic times and people will watch what they spend their dollars on.

In my opinion, I think if you offer participants a prize at the end of the year. A trip to the banquet for two all expenses paid. A trip to a race for two all expenses paid. Maybe some other smaller prize from their favorite driver. If you offer people something that they can’t get on their own in these hard economic time maybe they would be more likely to vote more often and then they would get more hit to their website.

Just my opinion.
Bonnie from Connecticut

________________________________________________
Should the NMPA Chex Most Popular Driver Voting be changed?

Yes it should be. I think it is a disgrace to the award to be able to make up email addresses and vote more than once. Try one person voting 6 times to 10 times. There should be a way that the IP address of the email address be registered and only to be used ONCE a day. No one will vote knowing the Jr Nation vote much more than once a day. This is fact. But, this is the ONLY trophy Jr will get. The one his so called Nation votes for him. Thank God the Championship is not decided by votes.

Have Happy Holidays
________________________________________________
Hi Claire,

Thanks for reading my email on the air! It was hard to drive and listen to something that I wrote at the same time!!!

Have thoroughly enjoyed the discussion. Now that I have a better feel, I have a couple more thoughts to share with Chex…

1. Whatever voting system is used, it has to be fair and open to all people equally or the results are questionable. To have someone pay to vote, or go to the track to vote, severely limits a segment of the population. While I would encourage them to put a donation link on their site, I would hate to see folks have to pay to vote in this economy, when racing/voting might be one of few perks in a pretty bleak existence.

2. I certainly support Chex wanting to have more hits to its website. Perhaps if after someone voted a set number of times in a month, they would automatically get a coupon for a discount on one of the Chex products. If, perhaps, one had to vote 20 times in a month, the coupon could not be possibly kicked out until the 21st of the month and if someone voted multiple times daily, then their votes would be discounted… the software is out there to match emails to votes. That would encourage folks to vote even if they perceived their driver not to be a potential winner!

3. I must say I like the idea of a driver of the month and then perhaps in the last month a run off of all (or the top 3- 5) drivers over the year.

Thanks to you for listening and thanks to Chex for asking!

Mary
Chicago, IL
________________________________________________
Claire B:

How about 1 per month then a “chase” vote during the last week or so of the season between the drivers that won each month for the yearly big winner.

Or a 1 per month; then between those 3 for the quarter with the final vote between the quarterly for the end of year winner with all the quarterly winners being acknowledged some way.

And yes by clearing cookies anyone can vote more than once and after about the first month this year fans didn’t even have to do that to vote more than once. Didn’t even have to use more than one email. I voted but will admit most weeks I only remembered 4 out of 7 days.

As much as I love giving to my driver’s charity I have a bit of a problem with $1 a vote or whatever because that leaves out a lot of people who could not afford to do that. You are talking even at only one vote per day up to $365 a year and for folks who are struggling to make all their bills or saying they can’t afford $100 for a race ticket, does Nascar or the sponsors want to add one more thing people would have to pay for? Just a thought. Now maybe if they did a vote off at the end out of the top so many for the year to get the winner for the year or something and during that week or whatever the time frame is they want to do that, that could be interesting.

Just a couple thoughts.

Pam
________________________________________________
Claire B,
If they insist on a popularity contast, why not vote for a favorite team.
Some folks cheer the car and what it represents and not the driver.
Besides, these drivers aleady have a hard time fitting their heads in their
tight little seats.

Glad I’m finally getting listen today. Been too long.

Duane
Menifee. CA
________________________________________________
Claire B: This is an easy problem to fix. Only allow each computer’s IP address to count for 1 vote no matter how mant times they vote. Travis from KS

No matter how you change it Jr will win as he should he does have the most fans. That said I keep voting to hopefully keep Jeff G in 2nd (they have told us some years where the others were after Jr). I do know people who
say the Jr fans outnumber any others fans so why bother. The sweepstakes they have is a good thing as people might vote just to have the chance to win that. What I would do would not be what they want as they would get less hits on the site and probably not possible. I would like one Fan one
Vote and although I know Jr would still win that would be more accurate instead of being able to vote every day with all your email addresses. I don’t think you can do it for MPD but have heard of people being able to program their computers to auto vote when voting in an on-line poll.

Deb
________________________________________________
Claire: I voted several times for Sadler and know many who did the same. They used to show who was in the top 10 from time to time in years past, but I never saw that this year. Maybe if they kept it up to date on the standings more people would take place.

I don’t think any changes need to be made to the voting for this award. It’s the FANS vote so please leave it alone! No one complain in all of the years that Bill Elliott won it why now?

Virginia Spann
“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding…” Proverbs 3:

Comments»

1. Brice Beach - November 24, 2008

it’s a good thing for junior that chex has the most popular driver award, cause he can’t win anything else-last year he blamed DEI, who will it be this year? the only thing going for junior is that he is better than Kyle Petty-but not by much

2. Sheila - November 24, 2008

I’d be in favor of some kind of changes to the voting procedure but not sure what. I’d hate to have to pay but it would cut down on the ones that vote 150 times a day. We can’t all do that…free or not…but we still love & adore our favorite drivers as much as Jr. Nation loves their guy….there’s just not as many of the other drivers’ fans as there are Jr. fans. And no, its not really fair. Jr. will win until he retires if the voting continues the way it is. How boring is that?! Jr. for Most Popular and Jimmie as Champion forever…zzzzzzzzzz!!!

3. Don - November 24, 2008

Why bother with this stupid contest, Just give it to Dale Jr, and be done with it. The way they allow people to vote as much as they want, and the fact Dale is the most Popular driver, it’s all just a waste of time

4. Angie - November 25, 2008

Leave it alone! Don’t be like nascar and try to fix everything!

5. Nelda Quier - November 25, 2008

You can only vote once a day, unless you find a way to cheat. Shame on you!
Popularity is what popularity is! This contest is an honor. The proof is in Jr’s product sales, & cheers at the track. They don’t lie!

6. HELEN - November 28, 2008

Ahhh!! Come on Brice,Sheila and Don don’t be such poor sports
about it Dale Jr can’t help if he’s so loved….somebody has to be that
guy it might as well be him huh??!! LOL!!
You know it doesn’t matter what kind of voting system you put up
Dale Jr will always be the most popular driver with his fans and we
all know he has the most fans……and yes I’m a Dale Jr fan and proud
of it……sorry guys!! 🙂

7. Don - November 28, 2008

Helen
I’m not a poor sport, just stating the facts. Everyone knows Dale is the most popular Driver, so why have the Stupid contest, just give him the award and be done with it.

8. Becky - December 2, 2008

Brice & Helen and Sheila you people are really bad sports – what kind of contest would it be to just GIVE someone an award – would you want someone to just give you an award if you didn’t EARN IT? I don’t think so, I’m sure you probably wouldn’t feel the way you do if it was someone other than Dale Jr who has won it the past 5 years. I can honestly say knowing how humble Dale Jr is – he wouldn’t want someone to walk up to him and say “Here is the Most Popular Driver Award, you’ve won it the past 5 yrs might as well go ahead and take it” That is is an insult to him as a person and as a driver to the sport. Dale Jr after all the stuff the man has been through over the past several years has deserved receiving the award. It shows that his fans are LOYAL to him through ALL the changes and yes that they have RESPECT for someone who has RESPECT for his FANS! So go ahead and bash Jr if it makes you feel better. But FACT is FACT he still is THE MOST POPULAR DRIVER and has the most AWESOME FANS!!!!

FOREVER A PROUD MEMBER OF JR NATION!!!!

9. HELEN - December 3, 2008

BECKY I WAS BEING SARCASTIC TO THE OTHERS UP ABOVE FOR WHINING ABOUT JR GETTING IT EVERY YEAR I’M A JR FAN I’M PROUD HE GETS IT EVERY YEAR BECAUSE HE DOES DESERVE IT!!
HE DOES HAVE THE MOST FANS AND WILL ALWAYS HAVE THE MOST AS LONG AS HE’S DRIVING!!
WHERE WERE ALL THE WHINERS WHEN BILL ELLIOT WAS GETTING IT
EVERY YEAR???
IT’S JUST BECAUSE ITS JR AND EVERYBODY IS JEALOUS THAT’S ALL
I CAN FIGURE!!
GOOO JRRRR!! 🙂

10. JoAnn88 - December 4, 2008

I AM PROUD TO BE A JR FAN….AND YES HE DOES DESERVE TO WIN AGAIN…HE IS LOYAL TO HIS FANS ALSO AND WE ARE TO HIM….HIS FANS ARE TRUE AND LOYAL…I WILL VOTE FOR DALE JR EVERY YEAR TO WIN BECAUSE HE DOES DESERVEs TO WIN.

11. glenda arthur - December 4, 2008

i agree he ia a classy yyoung man with alot of potential, i also am proud to be his fan

12. Mary - December 5, 2008

Jr IS the MPD so what is the problem?
No change in the way the voting is done is going to change that.

13. Carol - October 22, 2009

#5 is right. You can only vote once a day unless your cheating. The sponsor of the contest need to get a handle on that. Dale Jr is the most popular at the tracks, in merchandise sales and in contests.


Leave a Reply

