jump to navigation

NASCAR Holidays December 8, 2008

Posted by claireblang in 2008 Season, Claire B's Mail, Fun Stuff, NASCAR, Off Season Fun.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

NASCARXMASTREE2008-3

Greetings from my house in Charlotte, NC everyone!

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! I wanted to touch base with you all today and, as promised, I will definitely keep you posted through the holidays with specific plans for the “Dialed In” show on Sirius NASCAR Radio Channel 128 (starting in 2009) and new schedule information very soon.

I’ve gotten a large number of emails about where I am at today on the dial. Thanks to all of you who had a scavenger hunt to find the show over the last months on various channels. I hope you enjoyed the “Dialed In” coverage in New York city on Sirius NASCAR Radio. I hope I made you proud. I am still unpacking from the trip and getting things back in order today and I am taking some time off post season (I am not on the radio this week) as I take some down time (vacation) to just rest up and prepare for some really exciting broadcast plans being put together for 2009.

I’m interested in what you thought of the banquet. Word on the street and amongst the reporters who were there -even the curmudgeons- was that it was better than last season with the drivers being unscripted (they were told by NASCAR to just make bullet points – no formal speeches). I though the surprise visit to the stage by Cale Yarborough to present his championship ring was a great touch. Cale was actually sitting at a table on the other side of the room from Jimmie during the dinner but no one noticed -and Jimmie had no idea. The surprise was so worth it. Also, how about Tom Cruise being at the Hendrick table, a guest of Mr. Hendricks? On the dance floor later I chatted with the guys from Matchbox 20 – totally down to earth. I also hung out with some of the guys from the 48 team who owned the celebration – and it was a fun night/early morning. Got to bed close to 4:00 a.m. Saturday morning. Let me know what you thought of the banquet and I’ll post it tomorrow. ClaireBMail [at] ClaireBLang.com

Melissa sent me this photo (above). She’s been a huge fan of Jeff Gordons and has been following him on a regular basis since 2002. When she first saw stores carrying Nascar Christmas Ornaments she had to have them! She decided to make a tree of Jeff or Nascar ornaments which also has a couple of Jimmie ornaments (and her most recent purchase of her other favorite driver KYLE BUSCH) on it. She says her ornaments have come from Lowes, Target, Walmart, Kmart. She shopped for them the day after Thanksgiving to let all her friends & family know which ones she wanted & where to get them. If you know anyone who has a similar tree for Christmas send the photo along I’d like to post it.

I am headed over to get my mail which has been held for a week- and just really taking some time to get everything back in order after having been gone most of the year.

I will still post news here on ClaireBLang.com so if you check here you can get the latest and this is the best place to keep updated on the show and developments with a firm schedule and about you, the listeners.

Anyone got a tree that rivals Melissas? I’d like to see it.

I’ll have more time to post the next couple of days while I’m off so stay tuned for that and more news on this site.

Thanks for your support, your loyalty and your friendship in 2008. You all mean a great deal to me and I appreciate it.

Claire B

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments»

1. derryl herman - December 9, 2008

Hi Clair I liked the banquet show. The comic was very good this year. It’s good that you have some time off, get rested. How come they did not announce the winnings for each driver this year at the banquet? do you know? Thanks for being soooo faithful to your fans.

2. derryl herman - December 9, 2008

Hi Claire, good to see that you have some time off, if only a week. I just started a blog and Im not sure that I am using it properly, so excuse me if I mess up Derryl from Ga.

3. Russell Reed - December 9, 2008

Glad you specified that was a listener’s tree when people click on the photo. You’ve always been the fair reporter who didn’t favor a certain driver. There seems to be a number missing on that Hendrick tree, 88.

4. Mike - December 9, 2008

Will you not be on again until next year?

5. ann russell - December 10, 2008

I have not been able to listen to you for a month…upgraded my
XM to Sirius Best Of…I am so confused…went to channel to channel looking for your show and followed you from channel to channel and now you are just gone..finally looked at your web site (tried to at work but was not allowed because access was denied).. So finally looked you up on my dial up at home to see what in the world was going on…now it seems you will not be on until after the first of the year which is fine you work your hiney off and you deserve time off but could someone just have told us?? I don’t know if you will read this email but here is my request…i listen to you in my car on the way home from work …I am on CST…we need a replay because by the time i get in the car you are almost going off…and if that continues i have no choice but to turn the sirius off…to expensive and don’t listen to anything but you. I have sent Sirius an email complaining but most likely that will do no good…anyway these are my thoughts would love an email from you. Thanks for all your hard work and will surely miss you if things don’t change…

6. HELEN - December 11, 2008

HEY CLAIRE B
THANKS FOR LETTING US HEAR FROM YA…CAN’T WAIT TILL
09 WHEN YOUR BACK ON THE AIR WITH YOUR NEW SHOW!!
THE BANQUET WAS VERY GOOD AND I AGREE WHEN CALE SHOWED
UP ON STAGE THAT WAS VERY COOL YOU COULD TELL THAT JIMMIE
WAS VERY SURPRISED AND WAS TOUCHED!!

CLAIRE I HOPE YOU HAVE A MERRY CHRISTMAS AND
HAPPY NEW YEAR AND THANKS FOR A GREAT 08 SEASON
WITH DIALED IN!! 🙂

7. Jessie Collins - December 25, 2008

To all the Dialed In listeners and Claire B, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! We miss hearing you on the radio Claire B, but look forward to your return in 2009……..Have a wonderful time off and get your rest so you can be up and running for the new season!:)

Wish they could have done some Best of Dialed IN shows with all the rest of the Sirius NASCAR stuff!

8. Les - January 2, 2009

Where are you and when we we get you back on the radio?

After XM lost the races the only reason I did not switch was your show.

Go Jimmie in 2009

9. Ryan - January 3, 2009

Sorry Claire B but it is Jan. 3 2009 and I really need to know when will you be back


Leave a Reply

